• Jennifer Larson won the APSA conference paper award given by the political networks section for her paper "Ethnic Networks" (co-authored with Janet Lewis).
  • Former PhD student Pablo Barbera has been awarded the 2016 Miller Prize for Best Paper published in Political Analysis 2015-16 for his paper "Birds of the same feather tweet together: Bayesian ideal point estimation using Twitter data." (Volume 23, Number 1, pp. 76-914)
  • The APSA has awarded Christine Harrington the Law and Courts Service Award. This award is handed out by the law and courts section of APSA for service on committees and leadership roles.
  • Melissa Schwartzberg's book, Counting the Many: The Origins and Limits of Supermajority Rule (Cambridge, 2014), has won the 2016 David and Elaine Spitz Prize for the best book in liberal and/or democratic theory published two years earlier.
  • Ph.D. Candidate Renard Sexton's paper "Aid as a Tool against Insurgency: Evidence from Contested and Controlled Territory in Afghanistan" has been accepted for publication at the American Political Science Review. Renard is on the job market this fall.